Blog Tour: A Deadly Fortune by Stacie Murphy #HFVBT

A Deadly Fortune by Stacie Murphy

Publication Date: January 5, 2021 Pegasus Crime Genre: Historical Mystery     A historical mystery in the vein of The Alienist, in which a young woman in Gilded Age New York must use a special talent to unravel a deadly conspiracy. Amelia Matthew has done the all-but-impossible, especially for an orphan in Gilded Age New York City. Along with her foster brother Jonas, she has parleyed her modest psychic talent into a safe and comfortable life. But safety and comfort vanish when a head injury leaves Amelia with a dramatically-expanded gift. After she publicly channels an angry spirit, she finds herself imprisoned in the notorious insane asylum on Blackwell’s Island. As Jonas searches for a way to free her, Amelia struggles to control her disturbing new abilities and survive a place where cruelty and despair threaten her sanity. Andrew Cavanaugh is familiar with despair. In the wake of a devastating loss, he abandons a promising medical career—and his place in Philadelphia society—to devote himself to the study and treatment of mental disease. Miss Amelia Matthew is just another patient—until she channels a spirit in front of him and proves her gift is real. When a distraught mother comes to Andrew searching for her missing daughter—a daughter she believes is being hidden at the asylum—he turns to Amelia. Together, they uncover evidence of a deadly conspiracy, and then it’s no longer just Amelia’s sanity and freedom at stake. Amelia must master her gift and use it to catch a killer—or risk becoming the next victim.

Amazon | Barnes and Noble | IndieBound

Advance Praise for A Deadly Fortune

“The 1893 world of the infamous lunatic asylum on Blackwell’s Island comes alive in frightening and horrific detail as a string of murders for profit is discovered when a young woman with a gift for contacting the dead becomes an accidental patient. She must fight for her life as well as her freedom in this engrossing mystery that reveals that all was not golden in Gilded Age New York.” —Rosemary Simpson, author of Death Brings a Shadow: A Gilded Age Mystery “This engrossing mystery, rich in period detail, probes the dark side of Gilded Age New York and the even darker side of life at the insane asylum on Blackwell’s Island. Plucky Amelia Matthew rises to the considerable challenges that surround her, uncovering increasingly dangerous secrets that point to the presence of a murderer in the asylum. Amelia has a special gift that both helps and complicates her search for the truth, making her a unique heroine. A Deadly Fortune builds to a satisfying conclusion that will whet the reader’s appetite for more of Amelia’s adventures!” —Clarissa Harwood, author of Impossible Saints and Bear No Malice “Stacie Murphy proves herself to be a masterful storyteller with A Deadly Fortune—an elegantly written, fast-paced mystery that blends the dark side of the Gilded Age, great characters, and a paranormal twist. Impossible to put down.” —Julie McElwain, author of the Kendra Donovan Mystery Series “Murphy serves up a dark side of the Gilded Age with intrigue, historical detail, and captivating characters. This is a mystery to savor!” —Dianne Freeman, award winning author of the Countess of Harleigh mysteries.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from this debut novel, but I was blown away within a few pages!   This book is described as perfect for fans of The Alienist, a little bit paranormal and heavy on the mystery.  This is spot on!  I loved the setting of Gilded Age New York, I’ve always wanted to live in that time period.  Voluminous skirts, canes, top hats, high fashion!

This book centers around Amelia Matthews, a woman who suffers a traumatic brain injury that exacerbates her ‘powers’.  She is able to communicate with the dead and sometimes she can see the way a person will die.  Along with Amelia, we meet Dr. Andrew Cavanaugh, doctor who studies trauma and mental illness on Blackwell Island.  Amelia’s brother Jonas is also along for the ride!  I found Amelia and Jonas to be incredibly well developed characters with Andrew falling a little bit flat.  I really enjoyed them all, but the relationship between Amelia and Jonas was the standout for me. 

I loved the setting and found the asylum on Blackwell’s island to be very creepy, but in a good way!  This is definitely a paranormal book, perfect for the next spooky season, but also for the paranormal aficionado!   Great characters, spectacular mystery, and a well-told narrative make this a standout book for me!  The pacing was very good and well-balanced for a debut novel!  

Thank you to Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours and Stacie Murphy for the opportunity to read and review this title!  So, so good!

About the Author

Stacie Murphy grew up near Nashville, TN. She began writing A Deadly Fortune in 2017 as a way to force herself to stay off Twitter in the evenings. She lives in Northern Virginia with her husband, daughter, and the worst cat in the world.

Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads

Blog Tour Schedule

Monday, January 11 Review at Coffee and Ink Review at 100 Pages a Day Tuesday, January 12 Excerpt at Probably at the Library Wednesday, January 13 Review at McCombs on Main Review at Gwendalyn’s Books Thursday, January 14 Feature at The Lit Bitch Friday, January 15 Review at A Darn Good Read Monday, January 18 Review at Novels Alive Tuesday, January 19 Review at Rajiv’s Reviews Wednesday, January 20 Guest Post at Novels Alive Thursday, January 21 Feature at What Is That Book About Friday, January 22 Review & Excerpt at Books & Benches Monday, January 25 Review at Chicks, Rogues, and Scandals Tuesday, January 26 Review at Bitch Bookshelf Wednesday, January 27 Review at A Chick Who Reads Thursday, January 28 Excerpt at Always With a Book Friday, January 29 Review at Amy’s Booket List Interview at Madwoman in the Attic Monday, February 1 Review at Book Bustle Tuesday, February 2 Review at Tangents and Tissues Wednesday, February 3 Feature at Reading is My Remedy Review & Excerpt at The Book Review Crew Friday, February 5 Review at Passages to the Past

Giveaway

Enter to win a copy of A Deadly Fortune by Stacie Murphy & a $50 Gift Card to Amazon or your favorite Indie store. Winner’s choice. The giveaway is open to the US only and ends on February 5th. You must be 18 or older to enter. Loxby Manor https://widget.gleamjs.io/e.js

One thought

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s