Blog Tour: I AM JAX, PROTECTOR OF THE RANCH by Catherine Stier

I AM JAX, 
PROTECTOR OF THE RANCH 
and 
I AM AVA, 
SEEKER IN THE SNOW
A Dog’s Day Series, Books 1 and 2
By CATHERINE STIER
Illustrated by Francesca Rosa
Animals / Adventure / Farm Life / Ranch Life / Chapter Books 
Date of Publication: April 1, 2020
Number of Pages: 96
Scroll down for the giveaway!
Spend a day in the life of a livestock guardian dog! Jax the Great Pyrenees has a big job. After the Texas sun goes down, it’s up to him and two other LGDs to protect their ranch from predators. But when the lead dog gets hurt, Jax and a young pup are the only ones left to protect the flock through the night. Told from the dog’s perspective, this story also includes back matter about the breed and role of the working dog.
        CLICK TO PURCHASE
Spend a day in the life of an avalanche rescue dog! Ava is a chocolate Labrador retriever with a big job. She and her handler have trained for years to be ready to help people at their ski resort if an unexpected avalanche hits. But Ava quickly finds out there’s much more to being an avy dog than daring rescues. Told from the dog’s perspective, this riveting story also includes back matter about the breed and the role of the working dog.
       CLICK TO PURCHASE

As a lifelong Texan and lover of chapter books with Dogs as main characters, I absolutely loved this book!  In the vein of Hank the Cowdog or Charlie the Ranch Dog, I Am Jax:  Protector of the Ranch is a wonderful addition from a fabulous author!  Jax is a Great Pyrenees, working on a ranch and guarding livestock.  Jax is a Livestock Guardian Dog, LGD, which is an incredibly important job. 

I asked my 8 year old to read along with me, which was a great bonding experience!  He is getting introduced to chapter books, so this was a perfect book to read together!  His favorite character was Jax, who was brave and responsible.  He gave this book two thumbs up!  His favorite chapter is Chapter 2, when the reader is introduced to the guard dogs and the flock.  He loved learning about Livestock Guardian Dogs and the breeds of dogs featured in the book!

I really enjoyed Jax, Bev, and the other dogs and sheep.  The story flowed seamlessly and was easy to understand for both my son and I.  We learned about bravery, having courage in the face of danger, and responsibility for others.  These are all lessons and messages that are important for young people to learn!  Jax is a wonderful character to convey these messages to emerging readers!

The illustrations are wonderfully done and very descriptive!  The illustrations highlighted and enhanced the narrative as Jax navigated the protection detail for the flock.  This is a great book for emerging readers and I would recommend it to parents and teachers for their children/students.  This would make a great birthday gift for a child or a gift for a teacher’s classroom!

I thoroughly enjoyed I Am Jax:  Protector of the Ranch!  Another book in this series is I am Ava:  Seeker in the Snow!  Thank you to the folks at Lone Star Book Blog Tours and author Catherine Stier for the opportunity to read this book and share it with everyone!

Catherine Stier, a former Midwesterner, now lives deep in the heart of Southwest Texas, on the edge of the beautiful Hill Country. Her children’s books have received honors and awards from the Society of School Librarians International, the International Reading Association, and the Bank Street College of Education. Stier has served as a frequent contributor to Woman’s Day Magazine and as a newspaper columnist. Her work has also appeared in Highlights for Children, My Friend, Child Life, and several newspapers, including the Chicago Sun-Times and the San Antonio Express-News. Stier’s lively and interactive Author’s Visit programs have entertained, educated, and inspired thousands of children. Visit Catherine Stier’s website at www.catherinestier.com for more information, activities, and free curriculum guides.
Facebook ║ Twitter Instagram ║ Amazon ║ Website
———————– 
GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! GIVEAWAY! 
ONE WINNER: Hardcover copy of I Am Jax, Protector of the Ranch (Book 1), hardcover copy of I Am Ava, Seeker in the Snow (Book 2), $15 gift card to The Twig Book Shop, stuffed animal – adorable “Ava” Lab dog toy, dog stickers, dog socks.  
September 17-27, 2020 
(US ONLY)
CLICK TO VISIT THE LONE STAR LITERARY LIFE TOUR PAGE FOR DIRECT LINKS TO EACH POST ON THIS TOUR, UPDATED DAILY, 
or visit the blogs directly:
9/17/20
BONUS Post
9/17/20
Review Jax
9/18/20
Character Interview
9/19/20
Review Ava + BONUS Jax Review
9/20/20
Jax Scrapbook
9/21/20
Ava Scrapbook
9/22/20
Review Jax
9/23/20
Review Ava
9/24/20
Sneak Peek Jax
9/25/20
Review Jax
9/26/20
Review Ava
   blog tour services provided by
  

One thought

Leave a Reply to Kristine Hall Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s