ARC Review: Twin Daggers by MarcyKate Connolly

Twin Daggers

Author: MarcyKate Connolly

Published: August 25, 2020

Publisher: Blink

Format: eBook

Source: NetGalley

Aissa’s life is a web of carefully constructed lies. She and her twin sister, Zandria, are Magi spies, magic users most believe to be extinct. And they’re on a mission for revenge. 

This action & adventure spy thriller–a fantasy spin on Romeo and Juliet from 
New York Times bestselling author MarcyKate Connolly–is perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Elly Blake and is about to become your new obsession!

By day, Aissa and Zandria play the role of normal young Technocrats eager to fulfill the duties of their new apprenticeships. By night, they plot their revenge to retake their city from the Technocrats. But then Aissa is given a new mission: find the heir to the Technocrat throne, who is rumored to be one of the Heartless, and kidnap her. Born without a working heart, the Heartless survive with a mechanical replacement.

Aissa is more likely to be caught than to be successful, but she’s never been one to turn down an assignment, even if the hunt is complicated by a kind Technocrat researcher who is determined to find a cure for the Heartless. But when Zandria is captured by the Technocrats, Aissa will do anything to get her sister back. Even if it means abandoning all other loyalties–and missions–and deciding whether or not it’s worth risking everything on getting help from her sworn enemies. 

There is so much that I want to say about this book, but I’m going to keep it short because it doesn’t actually matter.  Twin Daggers is a book that I requested because the synopsis seemed so promising.  Something like Renegades, futuristic like Bladerunner, soft magic system, spies, intrigue, romance reminiscent of Romeo and Juliet.  This was so promising and I wanted to believe in it so much.  Unfortunately, I was wildly disappointed.  This was mostly due to the fact that the synopsis overpromised what I read.  The narrative moved along so slowly and I felt the romance was flat. 

I had a lot of hope for this, but it wasn’t my thing.  I wanted to believe in this book, but I ultimately couldn’t.  This needed a few more developmental passes.  A few more critique partners and a good dose of plot accelerant.  That’s my hot take. 

I would still encourage you to try this book.  It wasn’t my thing, but it might be perfect for you.  Check out a copy from your local library.  Buy a copy for yourself.  Buy a copy for a friend.  It’s a beautiful cover, nonetheless.

PURCHASE LINKS
AUTHOR SOCIAL LINKS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s