Review: These Vengeful Hearts by Katherine Laurin

Ember is a high-achieving sophomore at Heller High, a normal school with a terrible secret, the Red Court.  The Red Court exists to bring chaos and mayhem into the lives of Heller High’s students.  A highly secretive group of students, with a mastermind, codename:  The Queen of Hearts. 

This is the setting in which Ember Williams finds herself.  Ember’s sister was injured in a car crash before Ember enrolled at Heller and of course the Red Court is responsible.  Ember vows to get revenge on the court by infiltrating their ranks and taking them down from the inside.

These Vengeful Hearts is exactly the high school drama meets dark action movie that I wanted!  The premise is a fun twist on Mean Girls and is filled with fun banter and so much intrigue that your heart will legitimately try to pound out of your chest! 

I was hooked from chapter one and could not put this book down!  The character development is solid and the world building was fun!  These Vengeful Hearts seems to take place in the modern world, with references to Instagram, Facebook, and other present day conveniences.  Overall the writing style and plot development reminded me of Cassandra Clare if she wrote things that didn’t have magic in them!

I would recommend this to readers that enjoy a classic high school YA adventure with a fun twist.  Readers who enjoy Cassandra Clare, Meg Cabot, Stephen Chbosky, and others would love this book! 

These Vengeful Hearts releases September 8th, mark your calendars or pre-order from your favorite retailer!

You can find the book on Goodreads here:  These Vengeful Hearts and Katherine Laurin’s website here:  Katherine Laurin

Thank you to NetGalley and Inkyard Press for a galley copy of this book in return for an honest review! 

PURCHASE LINKS
AUTHOR SOCIAL LINKS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s