Review: The Obsidian Tower by Melissa Caruso

The Obsidian Tower is the first book in a new series by Melissa Caruso.  Set in the same world as her previous trilogy, Sword and Fire, this book is centered in a small kingdom to the north of where the main action took place in the previous books.  New characters, new magic, and lots of courtly conspiracy!  Ryx is our main character, the self-described black sheep of a royal-magical family.  In the opening chapters, Ryx explains (in beautifully written detail, rather than boring exposition) that her magic works in reverse, instead of creating things or manipulating things, she kills everything she touches.   

The author really builds great tension through a complex narrative with lots of political intrigue!  As other reviews have said, the plot isn’t new, it’s a book about a girl with a power that is different from her family, she gets pushed away by said family, discovers a group of people who understand her, and she tries to save the day.  That’s common, but don’t we read books because we like elements of that plot?  Because we love magic, politics, made up kingdoms and worlds, and reading intently as the heroine discovers that her power isn’t bad, just different  and different is okay. 

I really enjoyed this book and would absolutely recommend it to a YA reader of any age.  Fans of Leigh Bardugo, Victoria Schwab, Cassandra Clare, and Sarah J. Maas would love this book! I already have the Sword and Fire trilogy on my TBR list for when I finally get out from under this pile of ARCs!

I received a galley copy of this book from NetGalley and Orbit in exchange for an honest review.

You can find The Obsidian Tower on goodreads and on Melissa Caruso’s website.  This book releases June 4th (someone’s birthday!) and be sure to pick up a copy from your favorite retailer!

PURCHASE LINKS
AUTHOR SOCIAL LINKS

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s